Who’s won the most home Opens?

The home nations have all held their own Domestic Open Championships over the years but who has been the best performer in this series of events.

The first record of a “British Open” was in 1963 won by Jan Roze but we are unsure of where this was held and if it continued.

The British Open as we know it was created and organised by Jock Caie of AMF and became one of Europe’s premier events attracting bowlers from all around the world. The first event was held at Sheffield in 1983 and was won by Sweden’s Mats Karsson. The first British female winner was Judy Howlett also in 1983 and the first English male winner Kevin Pollard in 1984. The British Open was part of the European Bowling Tour (EBT) for a number of years with Nick Froggatt winning in 2003.

The Scots were next on board with their very first Scottish Open held at Livingston in 1988 won by Scotsman Bruce Pearce.

Although our records are incomplete we know England’s Wayne Greenall won the event six times with Scotland’s Laura Rhoney, England’s Hayley Russell and Katie Jowsey winning three times. Katie the first to win in three consecutive years (06/07/08).

We think the first Welsh Open was held in 1992 but we have no record of where and who won. Our first recorded winners were Pauline Buck and Cliff Dew winning in 1993. England’s Paul Moor and Wayne Greenall tie for most wins with four each and England’s Pauline Buck winning four times in the womens event.

In 1994 the Northern Irish held their very first Open and won by Kenny Donnelly who retained the following year. Our next entry is in 2005 with Stephen O’Conner and Anita Watts winning.

The English Open filled the gap left by the British Open with Paul Moor winning the first event at Nuneaton in 2006. The English Open was also part of the EBT for a while with Stu Williams winning in 2007.

In 2020 the UK Grand Slam was introduced, sponsored by Qubica/AMF, where points were to be awarded to the top players in the 4 Domestic Opens. Prizes were due to be awarded to the top 2 male and female bowlers in an attempt to encourage more players to go to these great events but unfortunately we met COVID this never went ahead.

What do we know about the Grandslam history?

It is true to say there have not been many years in our history where a Grand Slam of more than three events has been possible. They overlap and in the case of British Open, changes to English Open. The British Open starts us off in 1983 and we have to wait until 1988 for the first Scottish Open and in 1992 the Welsh Open. The UK Tenpin Hall of Fame are still sourcing winners from the Northern Ireland Open and some Scottish Open and British Open winners.

England’s Lisa John and Scotland’s Laura Rhoney are the only players currently recorded as winning three of the four Home nation opens in their current form in a career. Lisa having won the English, Scottish and Welsh and Laura the Scottish, Welsh and Northern Ireland Opens. Wayne Greenall winning in old form of British Open, Scottish Open and Welsh Open.

Kirsten Penny is the only bowler to have won three home opens in a year when the British Open ran by collecting the British Open, Welsh Open and Scottish Open in 2000.

Players winning two home nation opens in a year include

1993 Pauline Buck British and Welsh
2004 Wayne Greenall Scottish and Welsh
2009 Vicki Burbridge English and Welsh
2011 Laura Rhoney Scottish and Welsh
2012 Hayley White Scottish and Welsh
2013 Hayley White Scottish and Welsh
2019 Paul Moor English and Welsh

Winners of Home Opens

1983Mats Karlsson   1983Judy Howlett   
1984Kevin Pollard   1984Shelagh Leonard   
1985Dave Taylor   1985Judy Howlett   
1986Gunnar Samuelsson   1986Tina Darvill   
1987Philip Dunne   1987Jill Owen   
1988Teemu RaatkainenBruce Pearce  1988Gina Wardle   
1989Larry ShultzChris Buck  1989Hannele UotilaJill Sutton  
1990Adam ApoAndy McCraken  1990Christina Dahlgren   
1991Marcel van den BoschGeoff Buck  1991Marianne Haultala   
1992Teemu Raatkainen   1992Pauline Buck   
1993Ron MohrRichard Hood Cliff Dew1993Pauline BuckLynne Terrel Pauline Buck
1994Chris van DammeRichard HoodKenny DonnellyKevin Hills1994Gina WardleJudy Howlett Pauline Buck
1995Mats KarlssonPaul BoyleKenny DonnellyLol Ellis1995Jody EllisSusan Campbell Jan Steiner
1996Goran CarlssonRicky Froldi Paul Delany1996Susanne OlssonAshley Craven Jan Hannan
1997Thomas LeanderssonWayne Greenall Wayne Greenall1997Linda NorryGemma Burden  
1998Mike Mullin  Ron Oldfield1998Paulina Aalto  Gemma Burden
1999Wayne GreenallRichard Hood Wayne Greenall1999 Kirsten Penny Mel Isaac
2000Gery Verbruggen  Wayne Greenall2000Kirsten PennyKirsten Penny Kirsten Penny
2001Phil Scammell  Peter Lenders2001   Gemma Burden
2002Paul Moor  Steve Thornton2002   Gemma Burden
2003Nick FroggattWayne Greenall Dave Parker2003Lotte Houbo PedersenLisa John Kirsten Penny
2004Tim MackWayne Greenall Wayne Greenall2004Jo HarriesLaura Rhoney Pauline Buck
2005 Graham TurnerStephen O’ConnerNick Froggatt2005 Katie JowseyAnita WattsPauline Buck
2006Paul MoorWayne GreenallPaul StottPaul Evans2006 Katie JowseyLaura RhoneyVicki Burbridge
2007Stu WilliamsPaul StottAlan GibbonsDom Barrett2007Alan GibbonsKatie JowseyKerena DykesFiona Banks
2008Kirsten PennyNick Froggatt Chris Oates2008Kirsten PennyDebbie Watson Jemma Smith
2009Vikki BurbridgePaul Stott Paul Moor2009Vikki BurbridgeNicki Ainge Vicki Burbridge
2010Jo CundyRicki Froldi Matt Chamberlain2010Jo CundyLaura Rhoney Laura Rhoney
2011Steve ThorntonWayne Greenall Matt Chamberlain2011 Laura Rhoney Laura Rhoney
2012Lisa JohnWayne Greenall Paul Moor2012Lisa JohnHayley White Hayley White
2013John WellsSteven Gill Dom Barrett2013Danni Hopcroft*Hayley White Hayley White
2014Paul MoorCurtis Hooper Steve Thornton2014Danni Hopcroft*Hayley Russell Hayley Rumkee
2015Ray TeeceAlan Keddie Darren Cundy2015Lisa John*Laura Murphy Lisa John
2016Steve ThorntonKenny Jamieson Paul Moor2016Jo Allsebrook*Ashleigh Gill Danni Hopcroft
2017Steve ThorntonSteven Gill Mark Patrick2017 Tania Yusaf Jo Allsebrook
2018Adam MichaelsRob Thurlby Peter Stevenson2018Samantha Hannan*   
2019Paul MoorSteven GillBilly NimickPaul Moor2019Franchesca Plewis* Debbie Longstaff 

*In events that male and female played together the highest placed male or female has been listed with the combined winner of that year.

Technically speaking, No player has won the four current UK Home Opens in a career and this honor is there to be gained as is the much harder task of winning all FOUR Opens in a single year for a SUPER Grand Slam.

A total of 92 UK players have won a Domestic Open Title, to find out who has won most events and gained most performance ranking points in these events, checkout the attached Ranking list.